You are here

Congratulations to this year’s UBC’s Faculty of Medicine Distinguished Achievement Award Winners who practice at Providence Research and St. Paul’s Hospital

June 27, 2022, Vancouver, BC – Dr. Darryl Knight, President, Providence Research, Vice President, Research & Academic Affairs, Providence Health Care (PHC) and Associate Dean - Research, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia (UBC) would like to congratulate the University of British Columbia’s, 2022 Faculty of Medicine Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients who received recognition for their efforts in advancing health care. 

While we congratulate all those recognized, at Providence Research we would like to acknowledge the following who share their knowledge and expertise at St. Paul’s Hospital and Providence Research’s; CHÉOS, Centre for Heart Lung Innovation and the BC Centre for Substance Use. Thank you for your continuing excellence in support and the advancement of better patient outcomes.

Providence Research Award Recipients:

Excellence in Basic Science Research: The award recognizes outstanding basic science research and scholarly contributions in the areas of health and life sciences.

  • Zachary Laksman, Medicine and Biomedical Engineering. Dr. Laksman works as a Cardiac Electrophysiologist at St. Paul’s and Vancouver General Hospital where he is the St. Paul’s Hospital Director of the Atrial Fibrillation Clinic and the British Columbia Inherited Arrhythmia Clinic and an Early Career Investigator at the Center for Heart Lung Innovation.

Overall Excellence – Mid-career: This award recognizes outstanding contributions in the areas of research, education, and service.

  • Liam Brunham, Medicine. Dr. Brunham is an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of British Columbia and a Canada Research Chair in Precision Cardiovascular Disease Prevention. He is a Principal Investigator at the UBC Centre for Heart and Lung Innovation where he leads a research team focused on cardiovascular genetics.

Overall Excellence – Early Career: This award recognizes outstanding contributions in the areas of research, education, and service.

  • Sarah Munro, Obstetrics & Gynaecology. Dr. Munro is a scientist at the Centre for Health Evaluation and Outcome Sciences (CHÉOS), Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research / CHÉOS Scholar. She is a qualitative health services researcher whose focus is knowledge translation and implementation science in women’s health.
  • Nadia Fairbairn, Medicine. Dr. Nadia Fairbairn, is a Clinician Researcher and Director of the International Collaborative Addiction Medicine Research Fellowship with the BC Centre on Substance Use (BCCSU), as well as an Internal Medicine Fellow with the University of British Columbia.

Excellence in Clinical or Applied Research: This award recognizes outstanding clinical or applied research and scholarly contributions.

  • Linda Li, Physical Therapy. Professor & Harold Robinson/Arthritis Society Chair in Arthritic Diseases, Canada Research Chair (Tier II) in Patient-Oriented Knowledge Translation, Director, Arthritis, Joint Health & Knowledge Translation Research Program, Scientist CHEOS

Excellence in Education: This award recognizes significant contributions to health education in the areas of leadership, innovation, and/or scholarship of education.

  • Rose Hatala, Medicine. Dr. Hatala is a general internist at St. Paul’s Hospital and an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine.